>O’Reilly Yanked In D.C.

>A follow-up to yesterday’s story about Bill O’Reilly: apparently, his Weekly World News-style program is wearing thin, at least in the nation’s capital. Today’s Washington Post reports on the train wreck that is Bill O’Reilly:

…WJFK (106.7 FM) yesterday dropped Bill O’Reilly’s nationally syndicated show, “The Radio Factor,” and replaced it with a sports-talk program hosted by Jim Rome. O’Reilly, an avowed independent who takes many conservative views, occupied a two-hour afternoon slot on WJFK.

The popular Fox News Channel TV host never attracted much of a radio following in Washington — in the most recent ratings period, his program had about 1.2 percent of the audience. But then, neither have many other conservatives, whose programs are popular in many cities but barely move the ratings needle in the Washington area, the nation’s eighth-largest radio market.

In defense of Bill O’Reilly, the article goes on to say that political talk radio isn’t especially popular in Washington D.C. at all; liberal talkers haven’t fared much better than the conservative ones. That’s understandable: when you work in politics all day, who wants to listen to politics in your leisure time?

Still, I can’t resist a bit of schadenfreude at hearing Bill O’Reilly got yanked from a radio station in Washington D.C., of all places. That’s more than irony; it might explain why he’s so unpopular:

Chris Berry, president and general manager of WMAL, says there’s nothing particularly unusual about Washington and political talk radio, except that “people in D.C. are smarter” than talk audiences in other towns. “In Boston, Chicago, even L.A., it’s more emotional,” he says. “In D.C., people really do know the issues.”

Oh, snap!

3 Comments

Filed under Bill O'Reilly, talk radio

3 responses to “>O’Reilly Yanked In D.C.

  1. >Actually, I don’t remember any liberal talk shows in Washington that didn’t fit the old laid-back model that puts people to sleep. It was ok for all-music radio but not so much for talk. But I think Sam Seder would do very well in that market – he has lots of energy and passion on the air and keeps even me awake.

  2. >Stephanie Miller and Ed Schultz are the two liberal talkers this story mentions. I’ve not heard Miller, but I like Schultz OK. I basically listen to talk radio in the car, and I live in town so my car trips are of the 15-20 minute variety. I’ve noticed if I’m on a long car trip, say 3+ hours, talk radio can bore me to tears. But I think much of that has to do with the fact that I have to listen on XM, and satellite talk radio is bloated with advertising. Too much selling, not enough talk. I get annoyed and end up changing channels. If we ever get local talk radio programming in Nashville I’m going to ditch my satellite subscription so fast their heads will spin.

  3. >Not being in the Washington radio market, I have no idea how ANY talk radio fares there. However, judging from my informal conversations with people (in southern Florida), Mr. Falafel’s star is burning much less brightly than it has previously. Loofah Boy’s tee vee show has taken on the patina of self-parody: He doesn’t even realize that when he’s criticizing the “far left loonies” that the very same tactics of which he accuses them could also be used to describe himself.Psychiatry calls that “projection.”He’s become a demagogue and the sooner market forces (and Faux Noise) determine he’s irrelevant, the better off will be the country.With all my love,Aunty Em