>Grumpy

>Man I hate this weather. It snowed last night … AGAIN!! I’m so OVER it, already. I left Southern California for this? God.

This is Nashville and we don’t get this kind of snow. At least, we haven’t in the 26 years I’ve lived here. Cripes. But this is two winters in a row, now. Apparently we’ve hit some kind of milestone. I mean, shit. If I’m going to have to deal with snow and ice every damn winter I might as well live somewhere that also gives me universal healthcare and a strong social safety net. Oh, and a population that appreciates professional hockey! I mean, Jesus. This fucking sucks.

I hate this because I know it means the hellacious summer we experienced last year (which prompted this grumpy dog-days-of-August post ) is going to return as well. And don’t think we’ve seen the last of the flooding, either. We are Nashville! We’re gonna get wet! Oh, we might not get another weather penis, but I predict this spring will see some pretty hellacious rainstorms. Just a guess. Hey, better stock up on those pumps and Shop-Vacs now, folks. Thank me later.

This is one reason I laugh when our idiot legislators decide the road to riches for Tennessee is to lure retirees. I mean, I have nothing against retirees — I aspire to be one some day, after all — but this isn’t the first time someone decided what Tennessee needs to do is compete with Florida and Arizona for the retiree market. Yessiree, resource-sucking seniors are just dying to get a load of this sucky climate: snow and ice in the winter, unbearable heat and humidity in the summer. Basically this place is livable four months out of the year. If you’re looking for the ideal place to spend your sunset years, this ain’t it.

So with everyone snarking about how Al Gore is fat and all, I’m reminded of the hissy fits this Hollywood blockbuster spawned a few years ago. It actually suggested, in a Hollywood blockbuster way, that global warming could cause extreme winters! Crazy, I know! But true! Might be something to add to the Netflix queue since it’s too damn cold to leave the house.

9 Comments

Filed under climate change, Nashville weather

9 responses to “>Grumpy

  1. >I saw the movie when it was in the theaters. It was sort of fun. What I thought was a great touch, was having North Americans fleeing to Mexico and points more southern to get away from the cold/snow and winter weather.

  2. >Yessiree, resource-sucking seniors are just dying to get a load of this sucky climate: snow and ice in the winter, unbearable heat and humidity in the summer. Heck you can that in Washington, D.C. Now what you really want is Ohio…~

  3. >Hey, Grumps, it's not unbearable here eight months out of the year! That's not true at all. More like nine. I think September stays too damn hot most of the month, too. However, it won't be long before I'll be out tilling the garden, putting in herbs and veggies, waiting for those first vine ripened tomatoes to come in, making squash casseroles and salads with fresh cukes and tomatoes, unless… the whole damn garden goes under fucking water again like it has the past two summers. The only great thing is we don't have mosquitos here in middle Tn, so there's that. Wait… we do have mosquitos. And ticks, fleas, snakes, wasps, hornets, spiders, and lately, a garage full of scampering mice. I love it here. That's the odd thing. Where else can you hit a possum with your pick up truck, toss him into the bed under the Dale Earnheart "angel wings #3" sticker, and fry his litte ass up for dinner, all with the blessing of Nashville's very own state legislature? boy howdy, we got fun!

  4. >The only great thing is we don't have mosquitos here in middle Tn, so there's that.LOL.Oh yeah I totally forgot about the critters here. The mosquitoes are like vampires. And man, what are "chiggers" anyway? Never even heard of such a creature out west but I swear to god I cannot fill the birdfeeder here in July without getting some heavy duty welts. Those things are DISGUSTING.The only thing that works on chiggers at our house is this garlic oil spray I get from the organic catalog. It's great but your garden smells like an Italian restaurant. Which sorta negates the point of my garden. But hey .. whatever. Vancouver here I come.

  5. TAO

    >I remember my first winter in Nashville…I believe it was 85 or 86. Being from the north I was not impressed with 6" of snow in like an hour….so I drove to VU bright and early one morning….The only car on the interstate…Good thing I drive slow because I got to watch a car skid right off an overpass and land right on the interstate right in front of me…Still can't understand why people think they can drive 60 mph in bad weather….The worst thing and since we are only an hour north of nashville is that from July to September you get no rain….Drought….My sister visits once a year during the summer and she claims for the heat we should have palm trees….

  6. >TAO:she claims for the heat we should have palm trees…Show her the prickly pears we have growing wild! Cactus is close enough …

  7. >It snowed again, this week?Well, it snowed again here, too. It snowed tuesday, wednesday, thursday, friday, saturday and today. It's 1 degree F right nbow @ 1:37 PM. It's been a fairly mild, low moisture winter so far, only about 7 or 8 feet of snow since November.We don't have a lot of mosquitoes, but the ones we've got have EEE and other nasties. The hornet is the state bird.

  8. >"….If I’m going to have to deal with snow and ice every damn winter I might as well live somewhere that also gives me universal healthcare and a strong social safety net. Oh, and a population that appreciates ….."Turns out it's been quite mild up there this year… http://climateprogress.org/2011/01/23/canada-mildness-high-presure-record-ostro-global-warming/ Thats probably salt in your wound….sorry.