Stressed Out And Grumpy

So, Nashville is in the throes of a 13-year cicada bloom, and normally these weird little critters wouldn’t bother me except my dogs love to eat them, and apparently they are 100% pure protein, which to a dog is like being on a five-day crack binge so I’m going nuts.

Just imagine: an 8-month-old pitbull on a five day crack binge. There simply are no words. Riley has been in timeout three times today.

I mean, Jesus.

I think I know how the parents of two-year-olds feel. Well, no, actually, I don’t. You can’t lock your toddler in a wire crate and grab a glass of wine while he howls in the other room.

Can you?

6 Comments

Filed under Nashville, pets

6 responses to “Stressed Out And Grumpy

  1. >Except I shoot tequila.

  2. >You can’t lock your toddler in a wire crate and grab a glass of wine while he howls in the other room.News to me.

  3. >"You can’t lock your toddler in a wire crate and grab a glass of wine while he howls in the other room."For those of us who are bereft of the joys of chirren underfoot I have a suggestion, one which has helped me over the years.Although I have no children, I have a pantload of neices and nephews. Those nieces and nephews have been "responsibly" fecund and virile and have ensured that future generations will be blessed with some sorta democommieness genes. When I feel like locking a kid in a cage I just volunteer to babysit, load up the Hav-A-Heart and hit the road! They don't got no good wine, so I bring my own, Chateau Charles Shaw*.*Better known to the unwashed as Two Buck Chuck (even though it's $3 or more, these days).

  4. Joe

    >I've kidded my mom more than once that they would lock her up for things she said or did when we were growing up (e.g. "get out of here before I hit you in the head with a meataxe."). In the late 50's, her youngest brother was mustering out of the air force at a base where we then lived. Once day he came home and saw me sitting still in a chair (when I was about 4 yrs old). "My goodness, how did you get him to sit still," he asked and then exclaimed, "oh my God, you tied him in the chair!" But today, probably not. (and I, by no means, don't want to diminish the reality of significant abuse some folks experienced in their lives sharing this anecdote)

  5. >oh my God, you tied him in the chair!" LOL!!!!

  6. >oh, sure you can. it's called a "crib" and parents do it all the time. or put the kids in "time out" space and lock the door while they calm down. or whatever. this is a pet peeve of mine, for all i recognize that dogs and cats =/= human babies. yeah, ok, it's a pet. still: it's not like pet owners don't understand 'responsibility' and 'commitment.' we do. and we love our pets (almost) as you love your kids. thank goodness for crate training and covered litter boxes, yo.