There’s No Getting Over Some Things

Hey right-wingers: please stop telling us lefties to “get over” the stolen 2000 election that installed George W. Bush in the White House and set America on its disastrous path to Crazy Town where we find ourselves today. Not when some of you still aren’t over Jane Fonda’s anti-war activism from 40 years ago:

I was to have been on QVC today to introduce my book, “Prime Time,” about aging and the life cycle. The network said they got a lot of calls yesterday criticizing me for my opposition to the Vietnam War and threatening to boycott the show if I was allowed to appear. I am, to say the least, deeply disappointed that QVC caved to this kind of insane pressure by some well funded and organized political extremist groups. And that they did it without talking to me first. I have never shied away from talking about this as I have nothing to hide. I could have pointed out that threats of boycotts are nothing new for me and have never prevented me from having best selling books and exercise DVDs, films, and a Broadway play. Most people don’t buy into the far right lies. Many people have reached out to express how excited they were about my going onto QVC and hearing about my book.

Jane Fonda has been a target of the far-right fringe for decades. Remember in the 2004 election when wingnuts photoshopped photos of John Kerry and Jane Fonda to make it seem like the two appeared together at anti-war rallies?

They still aren’t over her, after all these years. “Jane Fonda” has become wingnuttese
for “dirty fucking hippie Commie America-hater.” They still refer to her as “Hanoi Jane,” believe it or not.

This form of identity politics resonates with a very small crowd; for most people, Jane Fonda is an actress and exercise fanatic. But whatever.

I’m really sick of the hating on Jane Fonda. She long ago made amends for whatever hurt she caused those in uniform, while staunchly defending her right to protest the Vietnam War — something which thousands of other Americans did as well, I may add. And how appalling that QVC would cave to the lunatic fringe and keyboard kommandos of the right.

So no, if your side is going to hold a grudge over the political activism of a Hollywood actress from 40 years ago, I think I’m entitled to still be pissed that a national election was stolen 11 years ago and the worst regime in American history was inflicted on the world.

2 Comments

Filed under boycotts, Housekeeping, Jane Fonda, politics and film

2 responses to “There’s No Getting Over Some Things

  1. The Bush presidency more or less destroyed life on Earth as we have always known it. The near trebling of the national debt has stimulated a psychotic and poisonous reaction from the far right. The global depression has destroyed millions of lives across the globe. We are now in a state of near perpetual war with only some faint hope of ever exiting same. The polarization of American politics which had begun with the irrational hatred of the Clintons is now completely out of control. The accumulation of wealth by the few, the conglomeration of the media, the hatred Americans feel for each other? What do you think, you dumb fucking tea partiers? The fact that the election was carefully stolen and then a virtual coup d’etat was staged by the Rhenquist court only adds to the agony.

    We got over the devastation of two world wars, but all kidding aside, things may never really be okay again. Let’s return to the America of Franklin Roosevelt and Fiorello LaGuardia again before it is too late for us and the rest of the world. Think of our grandkids!

  2. Southern Beale:

    “I think I’m entitled to still be pissed that a national election was stolen 11 years ago and the worst regime in American history was inflicted on the world.”

    Hey, you say that like the american people had no say about anything about what Bushco did…oh, wait, did you mean once they got into office? Sorry.