Bill Haslam’s Just Full Of Ideas

Tennessee’s new governor has hit upon the greatest idea to battle the scourge of drugs since Nancy Reagan’s “Just Say No!” campaign! No, really!

Gov. Bill Haslam today is expected to kick off a new anti-meth campaign called “Meth Destroys” featuring the first educational video created for middle and high school students since the state’s initial meth campaigns in 2005. The video is the latest weapon in the war on meth.

The Tennessean gets extra-stupid points for the hyperbolic bullshit rhetoric. An educational video! What a brilliant idea! No one has ever thought of that before! Oh, wait:

Pfft. I’m not implying meth is as benign as pot, but it’s not like we weren’t forced to watch lame educational videos and listen to anti-drug lectures from Policeman Bob all through school when we were kids. Didn’t do a damn thing.

Hey, Governor: how about just focusing on jobs so people don’t have to cook meth to make money? Maybe help people get into treatment? Offer some kind of social services support to help people stay clean? How about opening TennCare up to dental care, to help those afflicted with meth-mouth? You know, something that actually helps people?

I know, it’s crazy talk.

7 Comments

Filed under Bill Haslam, drug scares, Tennessee

7 responses to “Bill Haslam’s Just Full Of Ideas

  1. Haslam’s full of something, alright. Anyway, it seems oxy-whatever pharmaceutical opiates and “pain clinics” are becoming a much bigger problem. Of course, pharmaceutical companies make a lot of money on that stuff.

    • Funny you should mention that, I just saw a documentary about the “pain clinics” in Florida. People drive down from all over the country to get prescriptions for oxy.

  2. John Weiss

    Gods, for me oxycontin is a terrible drug. I broke ribs, it was prescribed. I took the crap for about two days; got really sick of the shadowy things in my peripheral vision and finished my recovery with ibuprofen.

    Nasty stuff. Give me a natural opiate any day.

    • Oh man I’m with you! I had knee surgery and it was prescribed and I decided after 2 days that the pain was better. Not to be too graphic about it but that stuff will stop you up like nothing else. Didn’t poop for a week. I don’t know how people get addicted to it.

  3. ” but it’s not like we weren’t forced to watch lame educational videos and listen to anti-drug lectures from Policeman Bob all through school when we were kids. Didn’t do a damn thing.”.

    Oh, I think it did. It helped to make a whole generation aware that gummint and the law will lie through their teeth when it suits their purposes–which is nearly always.

  4. deep cap

    Same here. Broke my arm a few years ago and only took one dose of the stuff. Extra strength acetaminophen did the trick for me until the pain went away.

  5. The war on drugs failed over a billion dollars ago! This is just more whitewashing rhetoric from our yokel Governor. His track record of railroading civil liberties from shooting down anti-discriminatory laws to making it a crime to post offensive images to the internet are showing the extreme conservative agenda he’s pushing. Of course, funneling money into lost causes such as this is a Republican staple. Check out my portrait of Billy Boy which addresses his antics on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2011/07/potentially-offensive-portrait-governor.html