*POP*

It’s a gorgeous day in Nashville today. The sun is shining, the humidity is low, the temperatures are mild. The birds are singing and rabbits are hopping through the yard.

So, we survived the first sitting president of the United States coming out in support of marriage equality. The earth has not swallowed America and the skies have not been darkened by an army of Sodomite angels.

Heh.

But the response from right-wingers has been more like this:

Dramatic Frog Is Ready For His Close-Up

People, I do not have the patience for another round of right-wing hysteria over being on the wrong side of the culture wars. I do not have the stomach for another “national conversation” over this shit. I’m so over it. I don’t want to hear the half-truths, exaggerations and outright lies, where Fox News pundits outline the extreme, fact-free position (“Obama will force churches to perform gay weddings!”) and the “mainstream media” soberly muses that they may have a point!

I am not sure I can handle another round of commentary from the likes of Jim “Dim” Hoft, the dumbest man on the internet, who writes:

I don’t have a problem with gay unions. I do have a problem with a president pushing a law on the people with the specific intent of punishing the Church and Christian Americans.

What law is Obama pushing here? Anyone? Bueller?

Ah, the irony of Rush Limbaugh bloviating about the president launching a “war on traditional marriage”! It has been lost on no one:

Shut Yer Pie-Hole You Hypocritical Oaf

Time for a news fast. The world is just too lovely to wade into the cesspool of right wing hysteria today.

7 Comments

Filed under culture wars, GLBT, President Barack Obama

7 responses to “*POP*

  1. I ignore 90% of the news every day, it hasn’t really cut into my getting important information. Thanks to people like you and Ed Brayton (among others) I get to see what’s important to know about in the blogs and the comment threads.

    What passes for news is the filler in a shitsandwich of commercials.

  2. Randy

    When does becoming a parody of oneself become a parody?

    Anyone unpersuaded about the quantum arguments for the multiverse need only turn on Fox News.

  3. ThresherK

    Jealous of your spring. After turning on the AC in my car almost 2 months ago, our furnace came on last night. (Said furnace’s thermostat is programmed to “Yankee enough fer ya”.)

    Personally, I can admire the leadership, and feel good that some stranger, somewhere, is on the way to not getting scolded for having fun and being themselves. It’s the exact opposite of a Fundie’s greatest fear, isn’t it?

  4. greennotGreen

    It is a gorgeous day, despite the fact that I have spent a good portion of it dealing with the hazardous waste remnants of my late father’s life. (How many spray bottles of tire cleaner does one man need?)

    Hate is a hazardous waste. Let’s take some joy in the fact that at least one person, our President, has thrown his lot with those of us trying to clean out our cultural and karmic garage.

    • So sorry about the chore you are dealing with. Been there, done that — four times. I totally know what an ordeal that can be. 3 things that helped us were:

      1- a dumpster;
      2- a charity NOT Goodwill who just came in and boxed everything up and hauled it away for us;
      3- massive amounts of alcohol.

      Good luck!

  5. Mike G

    I eagerly await Newt Gingrinch’s statement on the Sanctity of Marriage(TM).

  6. I eagerly await news of Newturd’s untimely (as in, way the fuck too late) demise.