The Fall Of France

Sorry I’ve been neglecting the blog lately; I’m really busy this week and don’t know when I’ll be able to get my head back in the game. So in the meantime, here’s an old photo I found from my last trip to France. It was in 2000, and I’d gone to Paris and the south of France with my sister. One of our stops was Grasse, a town known as France’s perfume capital. Of course we visited a few perfumeries, including the famous Parfumerie Fragonard. Along the way I took this picture:

Grasse, France002

Ah, American culture. We are inescapable. At least you can order wine at a French McDonald’s! But seriously, anyone eating at a McDonald’s in France should relinquish their passport immediately.

I’ve been to the south of France many times. Forget the glitzy reputation, the area is filled with lovely little villages carved into the hills overlooking the Mediterranean. It’s picturesque and peaceful; no wonder artists like Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse were drawn to the area. I remember eating lunch at a restaurant in Vence and the walls were decorated with actual Matisse paintings; it was like dining in a museum.

Anyway, don’t know when I’ll be able to travel this year, but I’d love to go back to France. It’s been too long.

15 Comments

Filed under travel

15 responses to “The Fall Of France

  1. Mary Wilson

    Lovely idea, SB. We could all use a trip to a place so beautiful, peaceful and isolated from the hateful Republicans around here. Sadly I personally can not afford a trip, so if you get to go, please send us a travelogue and lots of photos…especially to the place that had all the Matisse art on the walls! Seriously!

  2. Jim from Memphis

    I remember seeing McDonalds in Bombay when I went there. They were advertising veggie nuggets on the sign. We did not go in, but I assume the burgers would be made from lamb or something besides beef. Of course you could say that the American burgers at McD’s are not made out of beef so maybe they did not change them? :p

    • Ha ha. Looks like they’re chicken or vegetarian. BTW you must have been there a long time ago. Bombay hasn’t been called that since the 90s. It’s Mumbai now.

      • Jim from Memphis

        Just after posting that I thought about how I should have said Mumbai… I have been twice – 1997 and 2004. During the 2004 trip my family and I were at the southern tip of India three days before the tsunami hit. We were back in Mumbai when the tsunami occurred.

      • A good friend of mine was at an ashram on an island in south India when the tsunami hit. They wanted to stay to help but it ended up they were just in the way and eating food and using resources that needed to go to others, so they went north. I bet you feel really lucky that you escaped. I can’t imagine what that experience must have been like.

      • Jim from Memphis

        It is sort of surreal to think back about it. At the southern tip of India there are two rock islands. One has a temple on it and one has a large statue. We had been there and taken the ferry out to visit each of the islands. I think the waves crashed up onto these islands and swept some people off of them. One of the ferries may have been capsized as well. We were there on the 22nd or 23rd of December and returned to Mumbai on the 24th.

        If I remember correctly, the timing of the tsunami was such that it made the late news here in the States. A lot of our friends and family were calling my in laws (here in Memphis) to see if we were ok, but my in laws had no idea that the tsunami had occurred. It took a few days for me to realize how big of an event had occurred because most of the programs were not in English and Mumbai was not touched by it.

      • Wow, that’s quite a story. That would definitely freak me out. Like the tourists who were on top of the World Trade Center on Sept. 10.

  3. greennotGreen

    When I was in France in 2005 (I think it was,) I would wake up every morning and walk across the square from my friends’ apartment to get coffee at McDonald’s. It was great coffee, much stronger than the American version, but not so dark roasted as what we call “French roast.” And it was cheap! And no, you can not have my passport.

  4. I saw that exact thing when we went to that Perfumery. And yes, France’s countryside is so pretty.

  5. democommie

    I was in Munich for the 1972 Oktoberfest and they had just opened a McArterycloggers in the city. Since we were there we went and got a burger. It was about the diameter and dimensions of a handball, definitely not a standard patty and, as per most german hamburgers (“Hackfleisch” auf deutsch) it was decidely “rare”–read “raw” in the center. One was enough.

  6. ThresherK

    Okay, I get that Parfumeries are famous and I haven’t heard of them. I’m a guy. (Fortunately, agewise, I’m in the gap between the Old Spice generation and the Axe Body Spray generation.)

    But cut to the chase: Any photos of famed chocolatieries in your archives? Valrhona or the like?