Is This Supposed To Make Me Feel Better?

These signs have started appearing in my neighborhood:

IMG_0987

Insert obligatory NSA surveillance quip here.

Seriously, there’s a cognitive disconnect here among people who are so paranoid about “neighborhood crime” that they’ll put this in their yard, but howl in protest over “Big Government” surveillance. “Surveillance” is a loaded word, as far as I’m concerned. I don’t want to be under local police surveillance any more than I want to be under NSA surveillance.

I’m trying to figure out what the point of this signage is. I don’t know who asked for them or who put them there. They’re in the public right-of-way, so they could have been put up by Metro police. But I find them creepy as hell.

My neighborhood isn’t a high crime area. We have your typical petty property crime — people breaking into garden sheds to steal lawnmowers, stuff stolen from cars and the like. As far as I know, we don’t have anything really serious going on — no home invasions or kidnappings or major drug crimes.

Anyway, I don’t want to live in a neighborhood under police surveillance. It kind of sends the wrong message. I can’t imagine what the hell people are thinking.

14 Comments

Filed under Nashville, Tennessee

14 responses to “Is This Supposed To Make Me Feel Better?

  1. butbutbutbutbutSEKURITEYZ!TERRARORISMS!FEARFEARFEARFEAR!!!!!!one.

    ~>:L

  2. Kyle

    And they’ll never make the connection between their pants-pissing fear and craving for security and the authoritarian state that results. They magically want omniscient surveillance of “bad people” but total freedom for themselves.

  3. barbdominey

    Convince your local real estate agents that the signs send a bad message about the neighborhood, and watch those signs disappear.

  4. ThresherK

    I dunno if I’d care to be under “police surveillance”.

    However, if it were that or “This neighborhood protected by undertrained undercover cop wannabee who didn’t take a psych exam”…

  5. Sounds awfully libertarian of you.

    Can’t blame you – gov’t. surveillance is almost never a good thing.

    • Funny, I was against this stuff before it was cool. Like, back when Bush and the Neocons badgered everyone into supporting the PATRIOT ACT….

      • Oh, Usagi was too, he just didn’t feel that he needed to let his congressman know, because the guy was too busy sucking up to the NRA.

        BTW, that culvert in the background? Wow. Now I see why the water backing up might be a problem. What’s the road about 3 or 4′ above the swale? If that’s an older development I can see that happening but zoning aand building officials are supposed to know better since about 1980, anyway.

      • And yet my Tea Party neighbor thinks we should all just “build a wall” and get over it. (Note, actually, that there IS a wall here ..) Actually, this stretch of sidewalk comes right off a soccer field at the college down the street from me. It’s at the bottom of a big hill.

        Yeah we kinda had a really big flood here in Nashville 3 years ago? Sorta got everyone rethinking the need for drainage? Yeah, that.

      • GregH

        Now you well know that the only people “Metro’s Finest” ever hassle are the unwashed homeless and the occasional amp-toting musician (possibly also unwashed) loading up his double-parked van outside a club on Lower Broadway at 2 AM. LOL “Drop the guitar! Step away from the equipment!”

      • Ironically, my congressman was Bob Clement when the Patriot Act was passed. And I did contact his office to ask him to vote against it. Of course, I’d only lived in the district a month and my voting card had not come in the mail yet, but the nice lady took down my comments and said she’d pass them along. Of course, Clement went ahead and voted for the darned thing!

      • Of course he did! Clement like ALL of the Democrats & non-Neocon GOPers were bullied into voting for this, as well as the Iraq War. All except a handful of hippies like Bernie Sanders, Dennis Kucinich and Ron Paul. Ditto with the Senate. It was all “DO THIS OR THE TERRORISTS ARE GONNA GET YOUR DISTRICT”*

        * and we’ll hammer your local markets with “so-and-so voted to keep you less safe!” ads at re-election time.

        I mean shit, Russ Feingold was the only U.S. Senator who voted against it in 2001 and look what happened to him! Of the 10 Senators who voted against the reauthorization in 2006, all were Democrats. No Republicans. In the House first time around, Ron Paul and Bob Ney were the ONLY Republicans to vote no; all the others were Democrats or Independents like Sanders.

        OH and let me add … I can’t defend this, just as I can’t defend why so many Dems voted for the Iraq War debacle. I’ve done beaucoups of posts about the spinelessness of the Democratic Party on shit that’s really, really important. But I think (hope?) things have changed to a degree. That with the internet and the democratization of the information flow, politicians have maybe learned they are better off making the principled vote, that people now pay attention to this stuff and there will be consequences, by and large.

        I think politicians underestimated how important certain issues are to the majority of people. Used to be the war issue was viewed as something just the old hippies cared about. Iraq changed that.

  6. I was just over at “Dispatches from the Culture Wars”. Ed Brayton put up a post about Oberdouchenozzle Kessler being suspended. According to Ed, Kessler is a police force of ONE. I wonder how the residents of the village will sleep safe in their beds for the next months. Wait, is that why George Zimmerman got busted for speeding? He was racing to PA, took a wrong turn and wound up in Texas?