Controlling The Beast

Interesting:

In a warning shot to outside conservative groups, the National Republican Senatorial Committee this week informed a prominent Republican advertising firm that it would not receive any contracts with the campaign committee because of its work with a group that targets incumbent Senate Republicans.

Even more striking, a senior official at the committee called individual Republican Senate campaigns and other party organizations this week and urged them not to hire the firm, Jamestown Associates, in an effort to punish them for working for the Senate Conservatives Fund, a group founded by Jim DeMint, then a South Carolina senator, that is trying to unseat Senator Mitch McConnell of Kentucky, the Republican leader, and some other incumbents up for re-election next year whom it finds insufficiently conservative.

Thus the civil war inside the Republican Party has spread into the politico-industrial complex. I’m trying to think how blacklisting contractors who work for Tea Party candidates will do anything constructive. Aside from inflaming the base, isn’t that kinda going after low-hanging fruit?

What about the sugar daddies financing these folks? It’s fine to go after an ad agency, but what about the people paying the bills? What about the Koch Brothers or people like Nashville’s own Lee Beaman, a generous contributor to affiliated groups like the Club For Growth (a major backer of Ted Cruz) and Americans For Prosperity. Wonder if any of these people will get their hands slapped? It doesn’t sound like it.

The problem with the Republican Party, as I’ve written a gazillion times, is that the moderates are already extinct from a functional perspective. Even the most reasonable Republican imaginable, once elected, ends up playing on the same team as the knuckle-dragging Neanderthals who remain stubbornly committed to failed policies and ignorant ideas like “defaulting on our debt is just a pin-prick.” Time and time again we see the so-called “moderates” kow-tow to the mouthbreathers; this is how we ended up with a shuttered government for two weeks, folks. Even our spineless governor, Bill Haslam, is too weak-kneed to take on the fringe.

I’m reminded of a quote from a book I read years and years ago — I think it was Asne Seierstad’s The Bookseller Of Kabul — where a Pakistani man says he doesn’t support the brutal tactics of the Taliban in nearby Afghanistan, but he thinks Pakistan could benefit from “just a little bit of the Taliban.”

But there is no “little bit.” It’s all or nothing. And it’s the same with today’s Republicans. There’s no “little bit of the Tea Party,” it’s the whole thing. They just shut down the entire government because the moderates are extinct as a party force. That should tell you something right there.

The fact that party leadership still thinks they can control this beast they created without going after the Hydra’s head — the Koch billions — is just pathetic.

14 Comments

Filed under politics, Republican Party, Tea Party

14 responses to “Controlling The Beast

  1. Daedelus

    Must we continue to use Neanderthals as a derogatory? It smacks of a kind of racism (speciesism ?). After all, lots of new research indicates they were a lot smarter than Republicans not to mention Teapublicans.

  2. The name calling just won’t effect this situation. It is greed, avarice and hatred of our Black President that caused the dissolution of the old GOP. Why? Because the GOP so-called leaders are now owned by the same controllers as the TEAs. I often wonder what the last really good GOP President would say, about the destruction of our democracy, the hatred of the poor and jobless, the racist themes. But if we stand up and work toward getting the haters out of office, work together to restore our National RIGHT to Vote. Just my take, but I have learned that my own name-calling does nothing. But telling the truth does!

  3. The Confederates will eventually die off. Unfortunately so will I.

  4. GregH

    I went after Beaman personally when I was car shopping a few months ago and their internet sales guy called me. I told him I would never buy a car there or get service there, even as a loyal Toyota owner, because Mr. Beaman contributed to Scott DesJarlais’ campaign. He was a young AA guy (based on his first name and voice) and he said, “I understand. Sorry to bother you.” :-)

    • I had bought two cars from Beaman before the whole Swift Boat Veterans thing happened (Beaman donated to THAT campaign too, of course, as well as the “English Only” and anti-gay stuff here in Nashville). So I would get called from them about twice a year. When Beaman’s Swift Boat Veterans donation came to light I started telling the salesman who called (an African American guy from whom I’d purchased cars in the past) that I would never ever do business with anything carrying the Beaman name because Lee Beaman was supporting partisan hate speech and contributing to the demise of America and the demise of civility.

      They kept calling and I kept saying it. They finally stopped calling.

  5. “They kept calling and I kept saying it. They finally stopped calling.”

    I’ve had a few people who did something like that; notably a FoMoCo office that had me confused with someone who had scammed them for a car (the con artist had given them my phone number). After a month and a half of finding my message box full of calls from them and several polite (yes, I really was polite about it) requests that they stop bothering me, I finally reached the tipping point after having missed OTHER messages that were important, because my “inbox” was full.

    I called the office and asked for the manager. I updated him and told him that the next time my message machine had a call from his office on it that I would be in his office (40-50 miles from where I lived) the next morning and that I would be incredibly rude and abusive. I think the word. “fuck”
    , in its many variations was featured heavily in my admonition. They never called again.

  6. Glidwrith

    I rather think their strategy will be effective. After all, these richies can’t actually DO anything. They (or their accountants) know how to turn the crank on the money machine to make money. They don’t have any skills of their own for marketing, advertising, campaigning or – sadly- governing. They only have money and if they can’t buy those skills then they are SOL.

  7. Bitter Scribe

    I think they’ll forgive anyone with money as long as they get some of it.

    Case in point: Sheldon Adelson. In the 2012 election he shoveled money to Newt Gingrich because he thought Gingrich was more pro-Israel than Mitt Romney. Then when Romney won the nomination, Adelson turned around and started showering Romney with money on the grounds that Romney was better for Israel than Obama. And Romney took it.

    I wouldn’t even call this hypocrisy. One thing successful politicians have in common with successful businessmen is that they don’t hold grudges–or at least, they never let a grudge get in the way of a good deal.