Baaah Friday

This landed in my mailbox this morning, under the subject line “Knock Down, Drag Out Savings.” Sender was “Walmart.”

yesmen

Bwaahaa. It’s those rascals, the Yes Men.

At my first Thanksgiving with Mr. Beale’s family, the women all invited me to join them on their traditional Black Friday shopping trip to the mall in Evansville, Indiana. I think I responded with something like, “I’d rather stick pins in my eyes, thanks.” I honestly never thought I’d meet someone who actually shopped on the Friday after Thanksgiving. And in a mall, no less? I simply don’t hate myself that much.

Thanksgiving has always been the one holiday that defied commercialization. Non-religious and a-political, it was the last honest holiday. It centered on three core American values: family, food and television.

But no more. Now we’re all arguing over Walmart and Best Buy making their underpaid employees work on Thanksgiving Day, and we’re treated to Black Friday Brawls on the TV as people behave like children fighting over toys.

Another cherished American holiday relegated to the dustbin thanks to Glorious Capitalism. Baaah.

4 Comments

Filed under consumerism, Holidays

4 responses to “Baaah Friday

  1. greennotGreen

    Since I was home alone nursing a cold yesterday (good timing, virus!) I had the TV on all day while I was doing useful things. By the end of the day, I didn’t ever want to go shopping again and certainly not on Black Friday. Does it ever occur to the advertisers that too much of a bad thing is even worse?

  2. Anniemouse

    I respectfully disagree that Thanksgiving is not religious–or, more accurately, that some people don’t force religion onto it. Within the last 10 years or so, I’ve seen more and more rwnj’s waxing orgasmic about Gawd led the Pilgrims to Murkuh, the greatest land on Earth, because Gawd loves Murcuns. Or something.

  3. I had to go to Lowe’s and Aldi this morning for some stuff. Lowe’s parking lot was maybe 25% full, Aldi had five or six people in the store, including the help. I really don’t get the whole, “Cut one end off of the blanket and sew it on the other end to make it longer” concept of marketing.

  4. GregH

    Loads of gunz and the Constitutional right to shop with a credit card at 3:00 AM 365 days a year are what make Amurka the greatest freakin’ country in the 6,000 year history of the earth!