American Morans, Creationist Edition

Buzzfeed did one of its infamous listicles at the Bill Nye/Ken Ham circus sideshow, er I mean “evolution/creation debate” (and no I didn’t watch it — sorry, but we had one of those in Tennessee about 100 years ago and I see no reason to repeat it). You can read the piece here, 22 Messages From Creationists To People Who Believe In Evolution.

Most of the questions are rather silly and pointless, IMHO — yes, Virigina, there is such a thing as a stupid question. As Slate’s Phil Plait, who bothered to answer the questions, pointed out,

[…] the vast majority of them are due to a misunderstanding of how evolution works rather than being pointed barbs striking at the heart of science.

I have a question for creationists: why can’t you tell the difference between “their” and “there”?

enhanced-27109-1391576856-1

enhanced-21214-1391576907-1

Sorry, I know this is a little petty. But I have a hard time taking scientific criticism seriously when it comes from people who don’t know basic grammar.

Also, whopper of the day to the dude who thinks evolutionists/secularists/”huminists”/non-God believing people do believe humans come from aliens and extraterrestrials. What? He probably got that crackpot notion from a book he got at the Grand Canyon bookstore. Seriously, this is what happens when you live in a bubble, folks. You start opening your mouth and a whole mess of stupid falls out.

(Original American Moran here, more American Morans here).

12 Comments

Filed under American Morans, Christian Right, evolution, science

12 responses to “American Morans, Creationist Edition

  1. deep

    I don’t even get that one… “How do you explain a sunset if their is no God?”

    The answer is simple: pollution.

  2. Anniemouse

    Re: spelling. When I lived near the Amish and bought produce from them, I noticed their signs were practically illiterate. I had thought that was from their only getting in a few years of school, but then someone explained to me that the Amish were purposely misspelling words to make a point that they were not part of mainstream society.

    Could the notorious fundie illiteracy also be a sign that they’re rejecting mainstream society?

  3. FWIW, I misspell LOTS of words, on purpose. I also occasionally misspell a word by askident. I don’t, as a rule, misspell words to the extent that a sentence can’t be parsed by someone with a basic education in English/MurKKKan English. I also try to refrain from Capitalrreah, the practice of using random caps, including in the middle of words. Sew ThERe!

    • I have Capitalrreah in my handwriting. Had to wean myself of it when I started teaching but I still slip up sometimes.

      • Just so we’re clear:

        This:
        cOmmUNist

        is what I consider “capitalrreah”.

      • Yes, I do that with my handwriting. Not my typing. Can’t help it, some letters are easier to write as capitals. I have horrible handwriting, and writing on a white board is even worse. But when you’re teaching students for whom English is not their first language, using capitals incorrectly is very confusing to them. So I’ve had to try to wean myself away from that. I still forget sometimes.