Your Modern American Sweatshop

Oh how I love these people who post ads on Craigslist (click to enlarge):

CraigslitEBook

Wow, the chance to write a 10,000-word eBook for a whopping $50 bucks! Who could turn down such a lucrative opportunity, especially since if they like your work, there’s the opportunity for more such wonderful assignments!

/sarcasm

I mean, cripes: when I ranted about this four years ago the going rate was $5 bucks for a 500-word blog post. My how things have totally not changed. You do the math.

Used to be sweatshops were places in China where they made cheap T-shirts sold at the Gap and Old Navy. Now, it appears sweatshops have entered the white collar job market.

Just, fuck you all very much. Write the damn book yourselves.

[UPDATE]:

Ha! This guy has the right idea!

musicians

8 Comments

Filed under media

8 responses to “Your Modern American Sweatshop

  1. Phantom 309

    Unfortunately, the evil ones will never go broke playing the percentage game. “compensation: eh, not so much.”

  2. someone-else

    the sweat-shop ethos isn’t limited to these types of “content” factories. Writers of romance fiction are probably worked harder and paid less than agricultural stoop labor.
    But thank you for casting a spotlight on these bloodsuckers.

  3. “*****MUST INCLUDE SAMPLES OF YOUR WORK!”

    Samples which are article length and proofed. Which samples we will then “edit*” and use without bothering to pay you or even tell you AND good fucking luck if you think about suing us!

    I haven’t written much poetry of late, but I used to churn out a fair amount of it–almost entirely bad, but what the hell. Friends suggested that I send it to the magazines that ran “Poetry contests”. I read one of the entry foms. ANYTHING that you submitted became their property if they gave you any consideration (a copy of the magazine in some cases) and they could use it without further recompense. Same thing for “photography contests”. The only one that I ever entered was the Smithsonian’s, back in the early 90’s. They sent them back with a nice note, thanking me and regretting that they couldn’t use them.

    Somewhere in the archives I have a copy of a rejection letter from a publication that is actually addressed to the person who had been the photo editor when I submitted my work and had then been replaced by the person who sent me the rejection letter. I thought it was pretty damned funny.

    * Said “editing” consisting of changing out a couple of verbs, maybe.

    • “Samples which are article length and proofed. Which samples we will then “edit*” and use without bothering to pay you or even tell you AND good fucking luck if you think about suing us!”

      Oh, I see you’re a freelance writer, as well.

      Welcome to my world!

  4. Bitter Scribe

    There used to be a website called fuckthatjob.com that was devoted to preposterous and insulting job listings. This would have fit right in.

  5. ThresherK

    SoBe, are you with the self-professed SB’s of SBTB?