Yeah That’ll Show ’em!

Apparently they really do make everything bigger in Texas, including assholes:

Death-row inmates headed to their executions will no longer be able to pick what they’d like for their last meal.

Brad Livingston, executive director of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, issued this statement in response to concerns from Texas Senate Criminal Justice Committee Chairman John Whitmire:

“I believe Senator Whitmire’s concerns regarding the practice of allowing death row offenders to choose their last meal are valid. Effective immediately, no such accommodations will be made. They will receive the same meal served to other offenders on the unit.”

Here’s the original post about Whitmire’s concerns:

Senate Criminal Justice Committee Chairman John Whitmire, D-Houston, wants to end the practice of providing death-row inmates with whatever they’d like for their last meal.

Whitmire – in a Thursday letter to Brad Livingston, executive director of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice — said he’s long been concerned about the practice and that the last straw was the Houston Chronicle’s report of Lawrence Russell Brewer ordering a huge last meal that he failed to eat.

The senator recounted Brewer’s order of two chicken fried steaks, a triple meat bacon cheeseburger, a cheese omelet, a large bowl of fried okra, three fajitas, a pint of Blue Bell ice cream, and a pound of barbecue with a half loaf of white bread, calling it “ridiculous.”

Wow, and this from a Democrat? There must be something in the water down in Texas flushing every last ounce of compassion from their politicians. Remind me to stay away.

You know, I wasn’t going to blog about the death penalty today because every wise and profound thing about the Troy Davis execution has already been said by people a thousand times more talented than I (for a start, check out this piece). But I do feel like a larger part of the issue has been lost because last night another inmate, one whose guilt was not in question, was also executed, and that was Lawrence Brewer.

Brewer committed a heinous crime, he was a white supremacist who with two buddies dragged the African American James Byrd to death behind a pickup truck. Brewer deserved to rot behind bars to the end of his days, but he did not deserve to die. That’s not justice, that’s revenge, to paraphrase Desmond Tutu. That’s just how I see it.

And let’s forget the whole “pro-life” hypocrisy stuff (God is pretty mean in the Old Testament, after all), I just don’t see how you can walk around saying you advocate “small government” while supporting the government killing your fellow citizens. You say the government can’t do anything right except find, try and execute people? Are you fucking kidding me?

Of course, not all conservatives are pro-death penalty, but for the huge chunk who are I’m just wondering: how can you trust the government to do that, but not regulate our air or keep our water clean? And no, the converse is not true, because things like clean air and water are based on tangibles, like scientific data.

I just don’t get it.

Anyway, what the point is of denying a prisoner about to be executed his last meal, I cannot say. Perhaps it’s just to show who’s the bigger asshole.

As if there were any doubt.

7 Comments

Filed under death penalty, rants

7 responses to “Yeah That’ll Show ’em!

  1. It’s really simple SB. For proponents of state killing revenge is appropriate, except when it’s not.

  2. Frank Simpson

    This story is, perhaps, the last item of proof that I need for the proposition that we, as a society, have gone completely off the rails. It compounds absurdity. Perhaps Senator Whitmire would have been getter off if he had argued that the budgets no longer permitted last meals? Or perhaps he should have attacked the last meal in question as being unhealthy?

    I could only hope that people like Senator Whitmire would take more of an interest in the criminals who helped bring about the financial crisis than worrying about the last meal of some poor soul on death row.

  3. yep. The loss of that sweet last meal will make those capital offenders think twice, it sure will.

    If someone argued that the last meal probably isn’t enjoyed, and served to remind the victim of the pleasures of life they will soon be leaving behind, conservatives would be all for it. Anything that increases suffering.

    Of course, not all conservatives are pro-death penalty,

    I would ask someone to produce one.

    • I would ask someone to produce one.

      The Pope??

      Okay he isn’t American but still … a lot of conservative Catholics fall into that category. And I know a lot of liberals who are pro-death penalty. One of my best friends is verrrrry liberal, feminist, a big Obama supporter, but we’ve had knock-down, drag-outs over this. So.

  4. And I know a lot of liberals who are pro-death penalty.

    Yeah, I realize that.

    I think conservatives approach 100% though; but since the curve is asymptotic, I don’t doubt there are a few.

    Now I am just curious if there are any prominent conservatives who oppose it, or even semi-prominent. Hell, I can’t think of too many prominent liberals who will come out and say it.

    • Andrew Sullivan .. though he’s too liberal to be a “prominent conservative” these days. Ken Starr .. George Will is another one … I think there are quite a few, actually. Wish they’d speak up more.

  5. thomas

    I can’t add a lot to all that has been written already. But, I know that the last thing I would want on my last day: another decision.. I think that I would just want whatever fate gave me that day.. but, a nice meal whatever it might be.
    Cruelty knows no bounds in human society.. Why do we continue to deal with symptoms instead of realizing that our society needs repaired temporarily and then totally rebuilt in the mean time? Civilized? Who really thinks it is so?