Tennessee Gun Report

I haven’t been too on top of the gun news this week. It doesn’t appear anything too crazy happened but I haven’t been checking too thoroughly, either.

That said, deer gun season opens this weekend in Tennessee, so I expect a few hunting accidents to show up in the papers. Back in my previous life I worked hunter check stations and these poor animal carcases came in with so many war wounds from previous hunting seasons, gun and bow hunting alike. There are some serious bad shots out there. It turned me off hunting for good, knowing that animals were being mangled and mutilated and bore shrapnel wounds for years. It’s a sick sport, sorry, but it’s true.

• November 19, 2013:

The city of Kingsport approved a rezoning request last night, paving the way for a gun shop to open across the street from an elementary school.

• November 11, 2013:

Ironically named Memphis police officer James Valentine was arrested for entering his ex-girlfriend’s house with a key he’d never returned and threatening her and her current boyfriend with a handgun. That’s no way for a Valentine to behave.

I don’t normally post stuff like this in the gun report but I couldn’t get over the fact that the guy’s name is Valentine.

• November 9, 2013:

• A Kingsport man accidentally shot himself in the foot.

• November 8, 2013:

On two separate occasions TSA agents at the Nashville airport found a loaded gun in carry-on bags. In one case the weapoin had a round chambered.

• November 4, 2013:

Nashville airport TSA agents found a gun in a carry-on bag on this day as well. The gun was loaded and a round was chambered.

11 Comments

Filed under gun control, gun violence, Tennessee

11 responses to “Tennessee Gun Report

  1. GregH

    Apparent murder-suicide by gun in Spring Hill doesn’t make the TN gun report, I guess because a) it’s intentional, like all the gun murders and b) it’s just sad and depressing and f-ed up. And you know it was the man. It’s almost always the man. It’s genetic, damn it!
    http://columbiadailyherald.com/news/local-news/police-release-new-information-about-shooting-couple

    • It is very sad. I saw that and wondered if they were kin to Richard Land of the SBC.

      Hard to know where to draw the line, I intended the gun report to be a round up of accidental shootings and people doing stupid things with their guns. Nothing stupider than a murder-suicide, though.

      • GregH

        The wife/victim may survive, according to the report. I send her prayers and good thoughts. Maury County tops again in domestic violence and socio-economic status seems not to matter. It’s in men’s genes…or in the air and water. Or maybe a multi-generational curse. God help us.

  2. Access to murderous thoughts is universal. Access to gunz is near universal, especially in most states that aren’t in the Northeastern part of the U.S. Bad thoughts + manly weppins = sad for all involved.

  3. ThresherK

    Is deer hunting a pastime of “the people”, economy-wise, any longer? Or is it creeping into being an upscale thing in some states?

    I ask because of a novel I read written by a US Park Ranger centering around illegal deer hunting by regular folk in Mississippi. As a suburban Yankee, the idea that deer hunting in such a red state isn’t something that one can take up with minimal cost, like fishing, beggars the imagination.

    • Like a lot of things big business has come in and monetized the sport. You don’t HAVE to have all the latest bells and whistles and doodads and not everyone does, but you certainly CAN. I imagine you see people all decked out at some of the more luxury hunting establishments, places in Texas which draw in Cheney types.

  4. ThresherK

    What about simple access, though?

    I guess I’m going on a tangent here, but it leads to a lot of questions: Where are the deer, what does it cost people to get the license, where can they go to hunt and what does it cost to have access to that land? Is there a big change in that now v. 60 years ago?

    I can’t keep relating this to my childhood fishing, and I’m just curious for the knowledge of someone who knows better.

    Why? Cos I knew when I was a kid and my dad took me fishing, the goal was to “go fishing”, not “catch fish”. Otherwise Dad would never have invited any of us kids along. I suspect that if someone is going deer hunting, the goal is to get a deer, not just sit on a dock or in a boat for awhile.

    • I’m not sure I understand your question. Yes there are plenty of places where you can hunt, people’s farms out in the country, public land, etc. Tennessee just passed the “Right To Hunt And Fish Act” which was some nonsense saying Bubba has a right to hunt and fish. I don’t think permit fees are onerous. You can go out and hunt without the Dodge Ram Hemi Engine Truck and the best scopes and the designer cammo, etc.

      It’s not a sport that people are doing as much because it’s just declining nationally, that’s just the trend. But people can do it.

      • It’s not declining in central NY. There’s a shitload of hunters around here. Lotsa sluggunners, mostly 16ga or 20 ga. (12 ga. slugguns kick like the ol’ mule, I’m told). Most of the areas around here didn’t even allow rifles until about five years ago. If you wanted to use your .30 aught or .308 you had to go downstate or up to the north country.

        I’ve never had a problem with legit hunting. It’s the morons who think that a Bushmaster .223 is THE hunting rifle who make me laugh.

      • Hunting is declining for the same demographic reasons that the Republican Party is declining: it’s a sport enjoyed primarily by rural white males. IMHO.

        Experts listed other reasons here, for example habitat loss, urbanization, other things to do with ones’ time.

        Playing the world’s smallest violin ….

      • ThresherK

        My questions, jumbled up as they sound, have pretty much been answered. Thanks to you both.