Where Are The FEMA Camps?

tin-foil-hatNotorious crackpot/tinfoil hat conspiracy monger and former Ron Paul pal Lew Rockwell asks if you know where your neighborhood FEMA camp is located.

Excellent question! Next time the jackbooted gummint thugs and UN black helicopters descend, I would like to know where I can go to wave at my loved ones through the barbed wire (just like in Red Dawn, remember?) Here’s what he says about Tennessee:

TENNESSEE

Ft. Campbell – Next to Land Between the Lakes; adjacent to airfield and US Alt. 41.Millington – Federal prison camp next door to Memphis Naval Air Station.Crossville – Site of WWII German / Italian prison camp is renovated; completed barracks and behind the camp in the woods is a training facility with high tight ropes and a rappelling deck.Nashville – There are two buildings built on State property that are definitely built to hold prisoners. They are identical buildings – side by side on Old Briley Parkway. High barbed wire fence that curves inward.

Fascinating. These are very cryptic instructions, but ones I noticed that were taken from the US Concentration Camp Locator, no doubt another pack of conspiracy loons and nutters who’ve spent too much time listening to the static on their short-waves.

First of all, let me say: as someone who lived and worked at Land Between The Lakes and explored just about every inch of the place, there are no FEMA camps on LBL property. There are regular old campgrounds and a facility used for summer camps. But no FEMA camps. If there are, they’re underground (or under water).

Highway 41-A is miles and miles and miles from LBL, by the way. There’s no “adjacent to 41-A and LBL.” The highway turns into Ft. Campbell, the big military base, and there’s a lot of military land between 41-A and LBL. Is there a prison camp there? I have no idea. Probably. It’s a damn military base. Saying there’s a prison at a military base is like saying there’s tuna fish at Kroger.

As for the Nashville site, I was trying to figure out from the vague directions where they’re talking about. Briley Parkway is a highway that makes a nearly complete circle around the city. Interestingly, it does traverse through state-owned land with some actual prisons on it. Riverbend, aka the Tennessee state pen, is here. So is the Tennessee Prison For Women as well as juvenile facilities. They’re all located along Briley Parkway north of the city. I used to volunteer at the prison so I’m pretty familiar with it. So yes, there are prisons here, but ones that hold actual offenders. But none seem to meet the description of “two identical buildings, side by side” surrounded by barbed wire. I mean, there are a dozen buildings up there surrounded by barbed wire.

The US Concentration Camp locater offered a helpful link to Google maps, which I followed, but it seemed to take me to the dam at Percy Priest Lake, which is Army Corps of Engineers, not state property. And no identical buildings or barbed wire, just a fence to keep you from jumping into the dam.

So count me disappointed that at least two of Tennessee’s alleged FEMA camps seem to be a big bust. Where are your FEMA camps?

6 Comments

Filed under conspiracies, conspiracy theory

6 responses to “Where Are The FEMA Camps?

  1. It’s prolly cuz I just watched a 1989 concert performance of “Tommy” by Whowasleft after Moon died and before Entwhistle bought the farm; these lyrics crept into my head.

    “Welcome to the camp, I guess you all know why you’re here.
    My name’s Lew Rockwell. I get more batshit each year…

    ,

  2. Jim in Memphis

    Isn’t the women’s prison across the street from a skeet shooting range on Briley PKWY? I take that part of Briley when I visit my parents in Madison.

  3. Laughs at Trolls

    Awww, that poor cat looks miserable with the tinfoil on its head.

  4. Too bad Roseanne Rosannadanna is not still doing her thing. She would make a nice hash out of rant about the Obama Femur Camps–and it would prolly be more factual than SKKKrewy Lewie RocKKKwell’s screed.