Good News Friday

A day late on this one, sorry. Hope everyone had a good week. I’m back to work after a week’s vacation and a week to get caught up, so blogging may be light.

We were in Chicago and Wisconsin for Labor Day week. I absolutely adore Wisconsin. I can’t say enough nice things about it up there. Beautiful countryside and every person we met was awesome, just the nicest people anywhere. I love y’all.

We visited Taliesin, Frank Lloyd Wright’s personal home in Spring Green, then went to Chicago and enjoyed a few days there. I also absolutely adore Chicago. Cleanest city in America. If I had the slightest inkling that I’d be able to handle the winters up there I’d move in a heartbeat. But I’ve been to Chicago in January and it ain’t pretty.

So here are a few items of good news to start your weekend with. Enjoy!

• A Federal appeals court has ordered a review of Halbig v Burwell, a case which dealt a severe blow to Obamacare by eliminating federal subsidies to low-income people in some 36 states. The case will now go before the full D.C. Circuit Court.

• Texas’ last clinic providing abortion care in the Rio Grande Valley will reopen, following a district court’s ruling blocking key parts of Texas’ new abortion law.

• Related: For the first time in its history, Cosmopolitan magazine will make political endorsements — and it’s only choosing pro-choice candidates.

• Former VA Governor Bob McDonnell and wife are guilty, guilty, guilty, guilty, guilty.

• Chicago’s federal appeals court has ruled that the Wisconsin and Indiana gay marriage bans are unconstitutional.

• Former Treasury Secretary Hank Paulson has a think tank and its next major initiative is tackling climate change and advocating for stronger environmental regulations.

• Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti has proposed a $13.25 minimum wage.

• A federal judge has found BP acted with “gross negligence” in relation to the 2010 Gulf oil spill. The fine could run as high as $18 billion.

• A car powered by salt water is coming soon to European roadways.

• Sweden’s Parken Zoo has welcomed a rare pygmy hippo and she’s keee-yoooooot:

_77373744_hippoolivia1_parkenzoo

• The most complete fossil of a ginormous sauropod dinosaur has been found in Argentina. The vegetarian dinosaur species is supposedly the largest animal ever to walk the face of the earth.

Good News, Tennessee Edition:

• This story of an abused and neglected horse dropped off for “training” in East Tennessee normally wouldn’t make the good news column except it has a happy ending, thanks to the Humane Society of Washington County. These are good people, maybe send them a few bucks if you can spare it.

• Thank you, Obamacare! More than 336,000 Tennesseans will share in $10 million in insurance refunds thanks to the Affordable Care Act provision requiring insurance companies spend at least 80% of insurance premiums on patient care not, you know, marketing and lobbying.

This week’s cool video: I took this video of a Cross River Puffer at the Shedd Aquarium (sorry, I was too lazy to edit the sound). This little guy just cracked me up. Those eyes! That face! Hilarious. Enjoy.

2 Comments

Filed under Good News

2 responses to “Good News Friday

  1. CB

    Glad you enjoyed your trip. Chicago has been on my bucket list since I was a teenager. Don’t ask me why. I already know that we are not suited for one another in the wintertime. 25 years in Buffalo taught me that.

    You go, Cosmo. That makes me happy.🙂

  2. I always appreciate the good news. * sigh *