Don’t You Hate It When You Go To A Parade & Come Home With A Puppy?

Yesterday we went to a Christmas event and Metro Animal Control (aka, the pound, and no, I don’t even mean like the Humane Society, I mean the city jail for unwanted pets) had some pups out for adoption and this little fella just stole my heart:

WILLIW

His name is Willie, and yes, he’s in that “I experience the world by chewing on it” stage of puppyhood. Four months old, labrador/pit mix. Initially the other dogs extended a welcoming paw though Willie has decided that All Beds And Toys Are Belong To Me, so Riley is rethinking this whole “new puppy” thing:

R&W 1

And as for the cats, well, it’s obvious he thinks they’re self-propelling dog toys. The cats are giving him a wide, wide berth right now. And Riley is pretty sure I’m going to change my mind:

ALL 3

I’ll keep you posted!

8 Comments

Filed under pets

8 responses to “Don’t You Hate It When You Go To A Parade & Come Home With A Puppy?

  1. Kathleen

    Sounds like you’re ripe for a reality show about “Doggie Drama”! The young ‘un is adorable. We had a couple of black labs when I was growing up and they are such great pets.

  2. Hi Willie! What a sweetie.

  3. themadkansan

    …That look in the last picture. “Mama, HOW COULD YOU?!” Bwahahahaha.

    Just be warned – if he grows up anything like our Macy did, he’s probably going to be a small tank. Both of her parents are pedigreed – just not the same breed. Daddy was a choklit lab barely a year old, and momma was a brick shithouse of a pibble. ~:)P

  4. Congrats on the puppeh goodness!

  5. CB

    The chill may come from the lab side. Great animals, and I’m not even a dog person.

    Congratulations on the new addition.🙂

  6. ThresherK

    Looks like the dogs can deal with each other, always a plus.

    Note that my living with dogs is limited to easy-going mutts or Lab mixes, and one at a time, and I was never a principal or co-owner. So none of that was my burden, but others’ stories amuse me.

    Keep us posted as to when the cats deign to get close enough to appear in the same camera shot with them.