Good News Friday

Well, crap. WordPress ate my earlier post where I whined about killing the blog. Whatevs.

• Researchers in Australia have made a breakthrough in curing peanut allergies.

• A 70-year-old North Carolina man has been exonerated after serving nearly 40 years of a life sentence for double murder.

• The free hand of the market has spoken and it does not like the death penalty: Ohio postpones all executions after state is unable to obtain lethal injection drugs.

• A rare Sierra Nevada red fox seen in Yosemite National Park, the first of its kind seen in the area in 100 years.

• Arkansas high school football star invites girl with genetic disorder to prom. Let’s hope this isn’t Carrie II.

• The Church of England ordained its first female bishop. Congratulations, Libby Lane.

• “Literary time capsule” now readable thanks to science: a new technique will allow scholars to read brittle papyrus rolls found in the ash of Mt. Vesuvius.

• House Republicans drop their 20-week abortion ban bill over concerns from female Republican lawmakers.

Good News, Tennessee Edition:

• Congratulations, Chelsey Davis of Pellissippi State Community College, who was invited to the State of the Union address as a guest of First Lady Michelle Obama.

10 Comments

Filed under Good News

10 responses to “Good News Friday

  1. Kathleen

    No need to kill your blog! Your “sporadic postings” are better than 99% of any of the blogs! Thanks for hanging in, Ms Beale! I love your posts!

  2. democommie

    Southern Beale:

    You are the Federations only hope! Don’t stop blogging; if you do, ISIS has already won!

    Sides’, if you didn’t blog where where would Jimbo(b) go for his “treatments”?

    • Mwah. Hey, I wasn’t trolling for complements … well hell, maybe I was.

      I really have been thinking of shutting down the blog, I just don’t have the time for it anymore. But if y’all don’t mind the irregular posting, guess I’ll stick with it.

      • Change the name to Good News – Around the Weekend Edition

      • onyxpnina

        I don’t mind irregular posting (glass house, you know), and your posts are a window onto an interesting part of the country and its culture that otherwise I just wouldn’t see.

        Besides, I have to credit you with the “Yes! …tell me about x; I’m all ears!”

    • Jim in Memphis

      DC – I seem to reside alot in your brain. Why do you think about me so much? It is kind of creepy.

      • Jimbo(b):

        You’re so easy to troll. You have nothing to say about anything that’s relevant, as a rule, but you do love some Bama’bashin. I’d be thrilled if you just went away, but I know that won’t happen.

        I’d say you’re a tool but that might swell your head, thinkin’ you’re useful and all.

  3. themadkansan

    Oh, please don’t. Irregular posting is no bother – and don’t feel like every post needs to 100% Serious and Relevant. Put up some furkid pictures, garden pictures, furkids-in-the-garden pictures, garden-all-over-the-furkids pictures, etc.

    ~:)

  4. “Bad breath is better than no breath”. I can’t tolerate losing you AND Letterman.

  5. CB

    Please, please stay! Irregular kind of matches my reading habits. Fine by me. Whatever day you choose is good. I’m retired, so they’re all kinda Saturday, by default.🙂