Rallying For GunSense

What a gorgeous day for a rally in Nashville today! The Moms Demand Action group was here and it was great to get together and hear from such powerful speakers as Richard Martinez, Shannon Watts, and Lucy McBath. It wasn’t a huge crowd — maybe 175 or so — but I didn’t expect it to be. It was a nice gathering and a beautiful day.

Many people had signs honoring those who had been lost to gun negligence and gun violence. I saw just one troll, a pretty wacko guy who kept saying his “Ban All Cars” sign had nothing to do with guns (although the back read “Kiss My Green Tip”). He said he just wanted to make sure we were all real careful crossing the street, and I told him thanks, since my dad was killed in a crosswalk years ago (he was). I tried to ask him if he wanted everyone to have a license to use a gun, like how we all need a license to drive a car. Or if he wanted us to register guns, like how we need to register cars. Or liability insurance. Or … or …. he got kinda incoherent at that point. They always do. He said I could take his picture but then he kept getting too close and I had to tell him to back away. It was a weird encounter.

One thing that I wanted to say about the Moms Demand Action group is that they’re always stressing that they’re not anti-gun, to the point where I find it almost annoying. Every speaker had to give their pro-gun history: “I grew up with guns,” “I hunt,” “I have a carry permit,” etc. That’s fine but after a while it got old, and I’m not sure how useful it is, anyway. The other side still refers to us as “gun-grabbing Mommies,” forever and ever, amen. Anyone advocating common-sense gun control will forever be labeled as a gun-grabber or anti-gun. There’s simply no middle ground with these folks, zero. If asking for universal background checks or promoting initiatives that educate people about safe gun storage makes you a “gun-grabber” and “anti-gun,” then there’s not much room for discussion.

I suppose the point was to stress to the media in attendance that the group is not anti-gun, perhaps strike a reasonable counterbalance to the extremist rhetoric happening just a few blocks away at the NRA convention. But I suspect a lot of that is lost on our clueless media anyway, and the constant reminders of everyone’s pro-gun bonafides weakened what I think is the most important message, which is how gun violence and gun negligence damages American society. Just my .02.

Below are some photos from the event. Enjoy:

DSCN5061

 

DSCN5062

 

Group photo: I'm in the back.

Moms In Nashville

Troll

2 Comments

Filed under gun control, Guns, Nashville, protests

2 responses to “Rallying For GunSense

  1. Mary L. Wilson

    Thanks, much, SB. GREAT coverage of this event! I think instead of trying to prove they are not ‘anti-gun, they should use the phrase ‘PRO-GUN SAFETY.’.

    These are the same dipsticks who accuse and distort the issue.of abortion. WE mothers are not “Pro ABORTION’ either. WE ARE PRO-equal rights for ALL. And that includes PRO-FEMALE

    Example: In yesterday’s paper was a long article about a ‘gun safety instructor’ whose gun ‘accidently went off and fired itself (the ole Act of God scenario) WHILE he was teaching a class of adults AND children.

    • As you can see by the WKRN story, the “we’re not anti-gun” message seems to have overtaken the message. If you’re leading with “we’re not anti gun” then you’re buying into the NRA narrative that guns are the answer to everything.