Take Down That Racist Flag, South Carolina

Un-fucking-believable:

The Confederate flag flying at the Statehouse in Columbia became part of the Charleston church shooting story Thursday after the U.S. and South Carolina flags were lowered in mourning but the rebel banner was left flying at its full height.

[…]

Officials said the reason why the flag has not been touched is that its status is outlined, by law, as being under the protected purview of the full S.C. Legislature, which controls if and when it comes down.

Gov. Nikki Haley ordered that the state and American flags be lowered, but the Confederate flag flies at full staff over the state capitol. And that, in a nutshell, tells you everything you need to know about this symbol of racism and white supremacy.

Fuck you, South Carolina.

7 Comments

Filed under racism

7 responses to “Take Down That Racist Flag, South Carolina

  1. Kathleen

    It’s like a macabre Monty Python sketch with these people. And I’ll bet you no one in the MSM points it out. That is egregious.

  2. Duke of Clay

    Oh, my God! I just don’t know what to say.

  3. Well, as a European interested in old structures, formal gardens, fine cuisine and cultural events, I had been planning to make a trip to Charleston, enjoy some time exploring the colonial era architecture and southern cuisine. However, this has truly pulled the scales from my eyes as to the true nature of the state of South Carolina. I will take my tourist money elsewhere. I pity America for what you have allowed it to become, a lethal and heartless, racist quagmire.

  4. Origuy

    Apparently it’s not on a rope, it’s fixed there. Probably so that no one could take it down. Anyone got a quadcopter we can attach a torch to?

  5. Shutter

    We should have let ’em go back in 1861 along with the rest of the slavers. They’ve been nothing but trouble then and now.

  6. Ruckus

    Forty + yrs ago I was stationed on a ship homeported at Charleston. My opinion of the place then and now is the same as yours. Fuck SC.

  7. Ann

    I just saw that the flag was put in in 1962 (not 1862!) in response to civil rights. I agree FUSC.