Message To Democrats

Dear Democrats:

It is patently obvious to anyone with a brain that the Republicans in Congress do not want to help the economy.

They do not want to raise one penny of revenue or create one job before the 2012 election.

They want the country to sink into the abyss. They want things to get bad, and when they are bad, they want them to get worse. And when things get worse, that’s when they’ll really get busy making them worse still.

To quote Mitch McConnell, his “single most important political goal, along with every active Republican in the country,” is for Obama to be a one-term president. Not only that, they want the House and Senate, too. They’re greedy. They smell blood in the water and they’re salivating.

I mean, they’re not even hiding it. You can see it in their actions and you can hear it in their words.

I know you know this. You’re not stupid. And neither are we. So here’s my advice: over the August recess, please take that message to the American people. Please remind everyone, in every single interview, talk show appearance and town hall meeting, that the Republican Party is wholly focused on their political ambitions at the expense of the national interest. And every liberal constituent in a Republican district, please ask your representative how they can sleep at night knowing they are purposely hurting the economy for craven political reasons. Ask, like Lucy-Lou in Whoville Cindy Lou Who (I think I confused her with Lucy Liu from “Ally McBeal” and the Charlies Angels movies. Pop culture mash-up!), “Why? Why Senator Alexander? Why Senator Corker? Why won’t you help your colleagues in Congress make the economy better? Why won’t you help create jobs? Why?

Finally, Chuck Schumer said it. And oh how the Republicans cried and moaned and whined. Oh how their little fee-fees got hurt! Good.

Keep at it. Keep calling them on their shit. Hammer it home, repeat it over and over again, every chance you get. Pull back the curtain. Find memos, leak e-mails. Do it for the good of the country, because one political party is purposely sabotaging the economy to grab power, and that’s not just treasonous, it’s immoral.

Real people are suffering out here in Real America™ and we need you to do more than just play Mother May I on the policy level.

Thanks.

Love,

Southern Beale

5 Comments

Filed under 2012 presidential election, Democratic Party, economy, Republican Party

5 responses to “Message To Democrats

  1. Omnes Omnibus

    Great letter, but one nit must be picked. It is Cindy Lou Who who was no more than two, not Lucy Lou.

  2. Beth

    Girl, you have a way with words. And a healthy dose of common sense. If I ever come to Nashville, I want to buy you a big ole glass of sweet tea to thank you just for being you.

    Now, having sucked up enough, could I pretty please use your letter as a basis to write to my incredibly evil representative Geoff Davis (aka the chinless wonder) and my equally vile Senators Mitch (turtle boy) McConnell and Rand Paul. Not that I think it’ll do any good, but it would certainly make me feel better.

    I moved here from Alabama, and foolishly thought I’d find a place where politicians had a little more sense than Jeffie Sessions and Richard Shelby. Hoo boy, was I wrong. Frying pan—->fire.

  3. Beth, help yourself! You’re far too kind and you betcha I’ll take you up on that glass of sweet tea!

    🙂

    • Beth

      Well, I sent that sucker (with a few embellishments and minor editing) to Mitch, Rand, and Harry Reid. I think a nice letter to the editor is in order too. Thanks!

  4. Yea, Beale just LOVES to be edited! Thats going to amuse me for quite some time.

    Oh, Beth, welcome to Tn, it please me knowing others are new to the suffering we do here.

    Beale, if there was ever a time to hit back, it’s right now. Stop asking me for money, Democrats, and start earning what i sent you long ago. I sent money to help with the Wisconsin recall efforts, because they really really worked there progressive butts off, and needed it.