Happy Riley-versary

I’m sort of in a lull today, feeling very uninspired and unmotivated. I really don’t feel like I have anything to add to the discourse. That can only mean one thing: time to throw up a cute dog photo! Here ya go:

Riley, Master Sleeper

January 30 marks the one-year anniversary of Riley showing up at our house. He still looks pretty much the same as in his first blog appearance (at the link), except the ‘nads are gone. Sorry, buddy. House rules.

Riley’s had a big year. He’s learned a lot. He goes to doggie day care about once a week or so, and he gets a good report card every time. He gets along with everyone and has charmed the staff.

I’ve spent the past year doing some intensive training; he’s finally learned not to drag me up the street when he’s on the leash. I honestly didn’t think we’d get there, and he still needs lots of time-outs when we’re going somewhere fun, like day care. It’s that stubborn pit bull thing.

But I have to say, I’ve drunk the pit bull Kool-aid. Riley is just the sweetest, gentlest thing ever. All that stuff you hear about how pit bulls “snap” and are unpredictable? Utter bullshit. They’re just stubborn, but the flip side of that is that they’ll stick with you through thick and thin. Check out this story on Spooky, a pit bull who miraculously survived a fire that destroyed his apartment. Just amazing.

Meanwhile Chaka, our Viszla mix, is completely neurotic and psychotic. We’ve got her on Prozac and had to take her to a veterinary behaviorist to address her aggressive behavior. This after spending a fortune on dog trainers. She can’t go to doggie day care or a dog park, because she will rip someone’s face off. But Riley, the sweet, playful pit bull, is banned by ordinance from Metro’s dog parks. Makes no sense whatsoever.

Anyway, I’m reposting this adorable video I took of Riley chasing his tail last summer. I was listening to some Latin dance club music for a work project and Riley got up and started dancing to the music. Cracked me up:

6 Comments

Filed under pet adoption, pets

6 responses to “Happy Riley-versary

  1. “except the ‘nads are gone. Sorry, buddy. House rules”

    My condolences to Mr. Beale. 😀

  2. deep

    Chihuahuas scare me more than pitbulls. I’ve never met a sane chihuahua.

    Of course the hysteria that resulted in banning pit bulls is the same hysteria (drummed up by MSM, of course) that led to eliminating the statute of limitations on student loan debts.

    But don’t worry! Hysteria is good for business!

    • Same hysteria that led to all sorts of fearmongering about rotweillers back in the ’80s … before that it was something else.

      • PurpleGirl

        Doberman Pinschers have also gone through being the demon dog of all time. Yet, Dobies can be the sweetest marshmallows if they are trained as house dogs and will be very protective of THEIR humans.

  3. Cute pooch. There are so many pitbull mixes around these days that it’s impossible to tell sometimes who’s what,. Buddy tells me that his grandsire on his dam’s side was a direct descendant of Hernando Cortes’ “War dogs”. I will admit that he murders some dog biscuits!

    I will not be around a lot for the next week or so, I’m switching from Verizon to TWC for my ISP and the new feed won’t be in before Friday of next week. Meantime I’ll go on line when I’m at a hotspot.